Fanfare for Librarians

Back to basics

with 2 comments

I opened up Topshop online this morning to have a look at Ann-Sofie Back’s new collection for them, and what do you know, it’s one of those days when my heart says yes yes yes and my head replies NO, very firmly.

For me, there is one top piece. This beaded, tough little wonder by her:

Softened up with this Boutique blouse layered underneath (and the weather is definitely still chilly enough to allow such layering):

Plus some jeans, and these surprisingly good wedges from the main collection:

I always think of Topshop as having lost a bit of sparkle in the past few years (sorry, I can’t avoid the fact that this coincided with the Kate Moss introduction, which did little to fire up my fashion loins), but the shift of focus that appears to have happened from main line to designer collaborations, such as Christopher Kane, Richard Nicholl, etc, seems to have done the power of good to the higher end of the Topshop spectrum.

Written by fanfareforlibrarians

February 10, 2010 at 09:56

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love all the new collaborations especially Richard Nicoll (not so keen on Kane…) and Ann-Sofie Back. These are some really nice pieces, my head would be saying a firm ‘no’ too alas 😦

    http://iliketweet.blogspot.com/

    Clare

    February 10, 2010 at 10:16

    • At first I wasn’t keen on Kane, but I’ve seen a few people wearing bits and pieces of his that looked really good. I’m not sure I could pull him off as well as I’d like, but I still appreciated massively that Topshop took on some really quite odd items from him and, as such, he’s become quite the household name.

      fanfareforlibrarians

      February 10, 2010 at 10:44


Leave a Reply

