Fanfare for Librarians

Brows, AGAIN

with 7 comments

Jonathan Saunders:

Balenciaga:

Or, conversely, bleached brows à la Lara & co.:

I cannot deny the sexy appeal of dark, big brows that frame the face (and I think they’ll be super for S/S 2010 looks, as it happens) but seeing Saunders colourful input, Balenciaga’s pastel blue hues and even the superb, alien appeal of bleached brows that seem to have disappeared entirely, I’m speechless in awe and indecision, they’re so utterly charming! I may be speechless, but I’m not quite brow-less in the same awe and indecision, not yet. Bleaching would be a step-and-a-half, but would make the addition of delicious colours far easier (my friends would balk in alarm upon seeing me with blue brows, aha, hurrah!). I think for A/W 2010 bleached brows could be divine (yes, it’s an “old” trend, but good things ought to be allowed to hang around), especially with black/grey outerwear, but for summer I might just look like I stayed out in the sun too long… what are your thoughts?

Sorry for being suuuuuuch a big fat eyebrow fan, I never stop posting on this topic it seems… I think it’s just an excuse for me to post some beautiful model close-ups when I am busy tearing my hair out over my high-but-not-yet-high-enough dissertation word count and slowly-running-out ideas and stress-related-acne-breakout skin. Mostly the latter, boooooo. Tomorrow is forecasted to be 7°C and patches of sunshine, hurrah! I plan on topping up on vitamin D as I stroll to the library, subliiiiime thought!

Written by fanfareforlibrarians

March 9, 2010 at 21:09

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’ve never thought too much about eyebrows, really, though these are so interesting. loving the pink ones, so different.
    I’ve often though about giving up on the job search, moving out of my parents house, and getting at least my masters… you make it sound so fun! haha.

    Rachel

    March 9, 2010 at 21:27

  2. I too love brows! awesome post.

    i’m not too sure about the last few photos (they scare me to be quite honest), but the first photo is breathtaking. i have never seen anyone look so gorgeous with violet brows!

    I just posted an entry regarding a quirky Brazilian line, let me know what you think about it =)

    -Robbin
    http://www.hellocreation.blogspot.com

    Robbin

    March 10, 2010 at 07:43

  3. ahhh i wrote a long comment but i don’t think it went thru =(

    anyway i just wanted to say that this is a fantastic post because i too am a brow fan! the first photo is breathtaking. i have never seen anyone look so gorgeous with violet/magenta brows.

    i just updated with a post on a quirky Brazilian designer line, i would love your input!

    – Robbin

    Robbin

    March 10, 2010 at 07:45

  4. Jeg er nok litt for konservativ for denne trenden, er mest glad i vanlige, mørke bryn, hehe!

    Ella

    March 10, 2010 at 10:44

  5. I never really think about my eyebrows, and often forget to do anything to them! I am a girl who is blessed (Not too sure about that?) with big dark eyebrows – it’s a family trait! I’ve never been very into them, as I’ve always had blonde hair. In fact, it was white blonde until I was about 11. It’s gone a darker blonde now, and is now *ahem* enhanced with highlights, but I have always been shy about my eyebrows as they are so dark against my hair. Maybe that’s why I have a fringe!
    You’ve got me thinking that maybe I should embrace them again. Not quite ready to have violet ones yet though!
    Clare x

    Clare

    March 10, 2010 at 11:41

  6. lara can pull off the pale eyebrowed look, but I’m not about to bleach mine! I think its a look that can easily go horribly wrong!
    http://stylespotterfashionblogger.blogspot.com

    stylespotterfashionblogger

    March 10, 2010 at 13:38

  7. I am so into brows these days… need to sort mine out NOW!

    I’m sorry for finding things you want, they’re just things I want too 🙂 We’re allowed to dream!

    iliketweet.blogspot

    x

    Clare

    March 11, 2010 at 10:17


Leave a Reply

