Fanfare for Librarians

Legs 11!

with 5 comments

Trousers used to be the last thing I thought about when it came to outfits. Literally, the last thing. Slim fit jeans were (and have been) ‘in’ for years and were the perfect basic base to many a combination. Plus, I wore skirts and dresses enough to not think about it overly. But focus has moved back towards trousers in the past few seasons with an increased passion and interest, and I can’t ignore the fact that the dropped-crotch, pegleg thing has changed my attitude towards trousers entirely – is it possible to be more comfortable than this?! I do doubt it. Pull on some heels and I can wear these slouchy wonders out IN PUBLIC! Massive coup.

Anyway, with summer approaching I am looking for the perfect pair of trousers to take me through (some people think this lunacy, but shorts are not always an option in breezy Scotland, where I’ll be for a considerable few months at the very least. Plus, in sunshine I burn up like a dry leaf in a forest fire, tiresome!) Lovely slouchy basic t-shirts are a must-have for summertime, but rather than reduce my outfits to boring shorts + white/grey t-shirt combinations, I’m pondering my next legwear investment. Whilst slightly out of my price range, Peter Jensen is doing wonderful things for trousers, and that green shade is melting my insides with joy:

And Siwy are (understandably, given their reputation with denim) making legwear an extremely tempting thing – sort of Christopher Kane-esque I think, given the tight black legwear and subtly embossed gold blooms, mmmm! (On sale for UK Urban Outfitters shoppers too, only £79 for those who wish to be in the know…):

And Asos are providing a plethora of options, here of which are two I’m eyeing up:

Trousers for spring/summer, total lunacy? OH, but what better excuse to introduce some braces to an outfit?! I’m a sucker for braces, quaint and charming and not everyone’s cup of tea, but definitely mine. But if there are a few wee rays of sunshine, no matter how weak and dwindling, and lovely bright light, and some spring flowers poking through the grass in the parks, I will be delighted and probably care very little about what I may or may not be wearing! (I’m sure anyone living outside of the UK will be cracking up reading this in tropical heat sitting by their pools in skimpy bikinis.)

Written by fanfareforlibrarians

March 23, 2010 at 11:51

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I must agree with you on those trousers – they are just wonderful! The perfect shade of green… They would look lovely with a little pair of orange shoes. I have a thing for green and orange together.
    My friend has those grey animal print trousers from ASOS. She wore them with a short sleeved mustard/orange jumper and brogues, and looked absolutely gorgeous. She has red hair as well, so the jumper looked great on her.
    I must admit, even though I am NOT a trousers girl, I too have been tempted by these more interesting options…
    Clare x

    Clare

    March 23, 2010 at 12:35

  2. Ooooh I like the green trousers, very yummy indeed 🙂

    tweet tweet tweet

    x

    Clare

    March 23, 2010 at 15:41

  3. Asos ftw! They always have the most amazing stuff.
    Xx

    CC

    March 24, 2010 at 12:06

  4. Re: the pom-pom headband – of course you can use the image! It’s not a problem at all 🙂
    Clare x

    Clare

    March 24, 2010 at 14:07


Leave a Reply

